Tips & Tricks

Best Skunk Odor Remover

I have 2 big dogs and have never had trouble with skunks before but this last summer they had 2 run-ins with a skunk and unfortunately the skunk got them both times. Having never smelled fresh skunk spray, oh wow, talk about a FOUL smell! Naturally I was freaking out about the house smelling like skunk because my dogs are both indoor dogs so I immediately jumped on the internet and did a bunch of research while my poor pups were whining outside my window.

I read that tomato juice is not a particular deodorizing treatment but instead just masks the smell for a while. So I continued to look…

I found this treatment that was developed by chemist Paul Krebaum and with all the amazing reviews I decided to give it a try myself. Well, his treatment is absolutely amazing and this man deserves the Noble Prize! And it’s such a simple recipe, everyone has these items in there house already!

SkunkOdorRemover

Skunk Odor Recipe

  • 1 Quart (950 mL) Hydrogen Peroxide
  • 0.25 Cup (60 mL) Baking Soda
  • 1-2 teaspoons of liquid dish soap

Mix ingredients in an open container and rub it into your dog’s coat thoroughly. The smell disappears almost immediately, but let the mixture sit on their fur for about 5 minutes while preventing him/her from shaking it off. Picking up one of their front feet will usually prevent them from shaking. Rinse off with water and repeat if necessary. You can dry your dog with a towel or let air dry. Keep out of eyes and mouth. You can wash the face area with a wash cloth. Do not store for later use because a chemical reactive between the hydrogen peroxide and the baking soda can cause an explosion.

Good luck!

signature

Leave a Comment

